Oakwood ResiszeWhat a great day for basketball fans. Twelve games were played with 9 decided by a single digit score including an overtime game, a double overtime game and a triple overtime game. The championship game saw an experienced and well-coached Toronto Oakwood squad defeat a very athletic Kitchener St. Mary’s team which has exciting potential moving into the season 69-57. Oakwood won its 5th Heinbuch Classic championship trailing only the powerful Toronto Runnymede teams which won 6 championships in the 1980’s and 1990’s.

Scarborough Mother Teresa defeated Burlington Nelson 67-60 in the Silver Division final.

Hamilton St. Thomas More defeated Brantford North Park 41-36 in the Bronze Division final.

Kitchener Grand River defeated Waterloo 72-47 in the Consolation final.



Dwan Williams  (Oakwood)     MVP
Brody Clarke  (Oakwood)
Jermaine Lyle  (St. Mary’s)
Tyrick Thompson  (St. Mary’s)
Clifton Palmer  (Mother Teresa)


Trevelle Blythe  (W.F. Herman)
Cordell Cockett  (St. Thomas More)
Filip Vujadinovic  (Nelson)
Marcus Ottey  (J. Clarke Richardson)
Chuder Teny  (Grand River)


After play on Friday Toronto Oakwood still has the opportunity to win the Heinbuch Classic for the third consecutive year. Joining the Barons in the Gold Division semis will be Kitchener St. Mary’s, Windsor W.F. Herman and Ajax J. Clarke Richardson. The Silver Division sports Waterloo Sir John A. Macdonald, Scarborough Mother Teresa, Kitchener Cameron Heights and Burlington Nelson. The Bronze Division has Guelph J.F. Ross, Hamilton St. Thomas More, Oakville Loyola and Brantford North Park. Competing in the Consolation Division will be Toronto Northern, Kitchener Grand River, St. Catharines Governor Simcoe and Waterloo. Play continues Saturday at Waterloo Collegiate and Huron Heights S.S.

30th ANNUAL HEINBUCH CLASSIC November 29 – November 30, 2013

The Toronto Oakwood Barons will be trying to win the Heinbuch Classic for the fourth time in the last five years. Attempting to stop the Barons will be fifteen teams including last year’s finalist Scarborough Blessed Mother Teresa Titans. The Heinbuch Classic committee welcomes Windsor W.F. Herman Green Griffins who will be making its first appearance in the Heinbuch Classic bringing to 102 the total number of schools who have participated over the tournament’s 30 years. The list of this year’s entrants is posted under the “schools’ tab.

A total of 16 games will be played on Friday at the two gyms at RIM Park in Waterloo beginning at 8:45 am and continuing all day. Play will continue on Saturday at Huron Heights S.S. and Waterloo C.I.

There will be no admission charge until the four Division Championship games on Saturday when admission will be $2.


Congratulations to Head coach Anthony Miller and the Oakwood Barons for winning the 29th Heinbuch Classic. Oakwood was dominant throughout the tournament displaying speed, teamwork, good outside shooting and a suffocating defense. Oakwood has now won 4 Heinbuch championships trailing only Toronto Runnymede which won 6 championships in the 1980’s and 1990’s.


Hamilton St. Thomas More defeated Collingwood 49-35 in the Silver Division final.





Kitchener St. Mary’s defeated Waterloo 62-59 in the Bronze Division final.







Calvin Epistola (Oakwood)  MVP
Brody Clarke (Oakwood)
Emeron Rodgers (Mother Teresa)
Philip Gillen (Cardinal Newman)
Ryan Doornick (St. Thomas More)


Brad Niermann (Collingwood)
Kaleek Whyte (Oakwood)
Nathan Riley (Kitchener St. Mary’s)
Rashaun Bennett (Mother Teresa)
Marco Zanette (Centre Dufferin)


All teams have now played two games and 4 teams are still vying for the overall championship. Scarborough Mother Teresa will play Hamilton Cardinal Newman and Shelburne Centre Dufferin will play Toronto Oakwood in the Gold Division semi finals beginning at noon on Saturday. Kitchener Cameron Heights, Hamilton St. Thomas More, Hamilton Westmount and Collingwood are in the Silver Division; Brantford North Park, Kitchener St. Mary”s, Waterloo and Kitchener Huron Heights are in the Bronze Division. In the Consolation Division Oakville Loyola will play Hamilton St. Mary”s with the winner playing Cambridge Galt in the Consolation Final.


Half of the 16 entrants in this year’s Heinbuch completed play this evening at Huron Heights. Each of the 4 games was a one possession game with a minute to go in regulation time. The 4 winners won by 6, 3, 3 and 1 point. Check the ‘results’ link to see the scores and top scorer for each team. Oakville’s Jake Babic was the top scorer overall with 32 points. Play resumes tomorrow at St. Mary’s H.S. and Huron Heights S.S.

2012 Heinbuch Classic, November 29 – December 1

The Oakwood Barons are back to defend their title along with last year”s finalist Blessed Mother Teresa Titans. The Heinbuch committee welcomes Westmount S.S., Collingwood C.I. and Centre casino online Dufferin D.H.S. who will be making their first appearance in the Heinbuch Classic bringing to 101 the total number of schools who have participated over the tournament”s 29 years. The list of this year”s entrants is posted under the “Schools” tab.

2012 Teams and Draw Now Posted

The 2012 Draw and participating teams are now posted.


Congratulations to Head Coach Anthony Miller and the Oakwood Barons for winning the 28th Heinbuch Classic defeating Scarborough Mother Teresa Titans 59-49 in a fast-paced, well played final. It was Oakwood’s 2nd Heinbuch championship in three years and 3rd overall trailing only Toronto Runnymede C.I., a provincial powerhouse in the 1980’s and 1990’s, which won 6 Heinbuch championships. Oakwood advanced to the final by defeating St. Catharines Governor Simcoe 53-39, Hamilton St. Thomas More 49-48 and Oakville Loyola 55-43. Mother Teresa had defeated Kitchener Grand River 76-70, Toronto Pope John Paul II 72-68 and Hamilton Cardinal Newman 57-55.

Kitchener St. Mary’s Eagles defeated Toronto Northern Red Knights 71-54 in the Silver Division final.

J. Clarke Richardson Storm won the Bronze Division championship and Kitchener Forest Heights Trojans captured the Consolation championship.

The tournament featured many competitive matches as 19 of the 28 games were decided by 10 points or less.


First Team All Stars

Brody Clarke                       (Oakwood)         MVP
Tyrell Bellot-Green           (Oakwood)
Isaac Lance                          (St. Mary’s)
Jaylen Babb-Harrison      (J. Clarke Richardson)
Dushane Newman              (Mother Teresa)

Second Team All Stars

Jake Babic                             (Loyola)
Javon Masters                     (Forest Heights)
Trae Bell Haynes                 (Toronto Northern)
Adam Voll                             (St. Mary’s)
Adika Peter-Mcneilly        (Mother Teresa)


The 16 teams have all completed 2 games and are now separated into 4 divisions. The Consolation Division sees Guelph J.F. Ross, Sarnia Northern, Kitchener Forest Heights and Kitchener Resurrection. The Bronze Division finds Kitchener Grand River, Ajax J. Clarke Richardson, Hamilton Sir Allan MacNab and St. Catharines Governor Simcoe. The Silver Division has Toronto Pope John Paul II, Kitchener St. Mary’s, Toronto Northern and Hamilton St. Thomas More. The Gold Division features 4 teams vying for the overall championship namely Scarborough Mother Teresa, Hamilton Cardinal Newman, Oakville Loyola and Toronto Oakwood. Check the ‘draw – Saturday’ link for Saturday’s matchups. Games begin at 9:00am. The top scorer of today was Filip Cvrkalj from Grand River with 37 points.